Video Inspection Archive


Video Camera Inspection of a Sanitary Sewer Line in Wilton CT

posted May 23, 2017, 12:15 PM by Pete Viola   [ updated May 24, 2017, 10:32 PM ]

At a site on Danbury Rd. in Wilton, CT, where we had already performed a utility mark out, GZA GeoEnvironmental, Inc. of Glastonbury, CT, requested we go back there to perform a level 3 video camera inspection survey of the sanitary sewer line within the area of concern shown below. The purpose of the inspection was to determine the interior conditions of the piping and look for potential blockages. First, a P350 flexitrax P354 robotic crawler inspection system was driven through the sewer line upstream, from a vault in front of the GNC store. At 11:21 into Video #1 shown below, or 58.6 feet into the pipe, the crawler ran straight into a hard mass of unknown origin and composition, stopping it from traveling any further; this information was documented in Report #1. Second, an attempt was made to drive the robotic crawler upstream, from the vault in front of GNC to the sewer main in Route 7. However, as shown in Video #2, this attempt was thwarted by an offset pipe; this information was documented in Report #2. We tried again, using a Midi Reel Pushrod, and this time we were able to camera inspect the line all the way to the sewer main. Unlike the previous two videos, there were no issues documented in Video #3 , making it unnecessary to create a formal written report.


AREA OF CONCERN
Camera Inspection Area Concern at Danbury Rd. Wilton CT


Video Recording #1 ‎(Upstream w/ Crawler)‎



Written Report #1



Video Recording #1 ‎‎(Downstream w/ Crawler)‎‎



Written Report #2



Video Recording #3 ‎(Downstream w/ Pushrod)‎



To learn more about our video inspection services, please visit the sewer, drain, and conduit video Inspection services page.

Finding a Sewer Tee with a Camera Snake in New Milford, CT

posted May 22, 2017, 7:16 AM by Pete Viola   [ updated May 24, 2017, 7:28 AM ]

FSM Services, Inc. of Roxbury, CT, was in charge of connecting a new sewer lateral to an existing future-use sewer tee for a new gas station in New Milford, CT. However, the town's plans were incomplete, so they needed us to camera snake the sewer main to find the exact location of the tee. The GatorCam4 PushRod System was snaked through the line from a manhole in the street, enabling our technician to mark the location and depth of the tee, which turned out to be located about 5-6 feet from the manhole. Once this information was available to our client, they were able to dig a trench from the new service station to the sewer tee in order to install a new sanitary sewer service line.

Danbury Rd. New Milford CT Sewer Tee


To learn more about our video inspection services, please visit the sewer, drain, and conduit video Inspection services page.

Camera Snaking Golf Green Drains to Find Problems in Kent, CT

posted Jan 12, 2017, 11:19 AM by Pete Viola   [ updated Feb 8, 2017, 3:21 PM ]

Bulls Bridge Golf Club, Kent, CTOver the past few years, Bulls Bridge Golf Club has routinely hired us to camera snake numerous putting green drains at their golf course in Kent, CT. Each time the purpose of the survey has been to observe the interior conditions of the pipes to find potential problems. All of them have been snaked using push rod video inspection technology, and, in almost every case thus far, they have been functioning properly. However, on this particular occasion, we found a broken pipe 30 feet in from the clean out it was snaked from. Watch, as at 0:45 pieces of the broken pipe and rock debris come into view. We marked the location and depth of this broken section of pipe in the field with green paint and flags. This enabled the facilities manager and his crew to dig up the old pipe and install a new one in its place.


Video Recording



To learn more about our video inspection services, please visit the sewer, drain, and conduit video Inspection services page.

Sewer Pipe Inspection to Find a Root Intrusion in Greenwich, CT

posted Jan 12, 2017, 10:10 AM by Pete Viola   [ updated Feb 8, 2017, 3:20 PM ]

AMEC, LLC had a strong suspicion there was something wrong with the sanitary sewer service line at a private property along Milbank Ave., Greenwich, CT, so they hired us to perform a Level 2 video pipe inspection survey. The line was snaked from a clean out in the driveway using a MIDI push rod video inspection reel, enabling our technician to check for potential problems along its path. At 0:45 the head of the push rod ran straight into a root intrusion, stopping the camera about 1 foot short of the sewer main in the street. A recording of this video was made and sent to an AMEC representative. Once they had this information in hand, they were able to repair the line before reusing it for the newly renovated home, saving the homeowners from having to deal with this issue in the future.


Video Recording



To learn more about our video inspection services, please visit the sewer, drain, and conduit video Inspection services page.

Pipeline Video Inspection of a 36" Storm Sewer in Norwalk, CT

posted Jan 12, 2017, 8:06 AM by Pete Viola   [ updated Feb 8, 2017, 3:22 PM ]

8 Woodward Ave., Norwalk, CTPetracca Design and Engineering, PC of Smithtown, NY, hired us to perform a Level 3 pipeline video inspection survey at 8 Woodward Ave., Norwalk, CT. The purpose of the survey was to mark the location and depth of the 36 inch storm sewer pipeline marked in red on the site plan and aerial map shown below. In addition, they asked us to measure its size, determine its functionality from manhole to manhole, and find a buried vault along its path. As Video #1 shows, there was a moderate amount of debris in the pipe, and at 2:08 a large pile of it was identified. In Video #2, the same conditions held, and at 1:14 am an abnormal amount of debris was found. Towards the end of this video, at 3:36, the survey was prematurely brought to a end because the robotic crawler was impeded by silt and other debris. Finally, as shown in Video #3, we identified the buried vault.


Site Plan



Aerial Map



Video Recording #1



Written Report #1



Video Recording #2



Written Report #2



Video Recording #3



To learn more about our video inspection services, please visit the sewer, drain, and conduit video Inspection services page.

Camera Snake Survey of a Residential Sewer in Greenwich, CT

posted Jan 11, 2017, 12:07 PM by Pete Viola   [ updated Feb 8, 2017, 3:28 PM ]

AMEC, LLC of Norwalk, CT, requested that we camera snake a decommissioned residential sanitary sewer service at Sheep Hill Rd., Greenwich, CT, to find the location of the tee. We performed a Level 2 video inspection survey with a 400 feet long MIDI push rod reel. The camera was snaked through the line from a clean out in the yard, and from there, it was pushed all the way to the sewer main in the street. This enabled us to mark the location and depth of the line and, more importantly, the tee. Once AMEC had this information in hand, they were able to dig right down to the tee, cut the line, and cap it.


Video Recording



To learn more about our video inspection services, please visit the sewer, drain, and conduit video Inspection services page.

Video Inspection of a Newly Installed Sewer in New Haven, CT

posted Jan 10, 2017, 7:46 PM by Pete Viola   [ updated Feb 8, 2017, 3:29 PM ]

1040 State St., New Haven, CTAMEC, LLC of Norwalk, CT, needed to have a video inspection survey performed at 1040 State St., New Haven, CT, to determine whether or not a newly installed sanitary sewer system was functioning properly and built to code. In order to accomplish this task, they hired us for our Level 3 sewer line video inspection services. This entailed performing a video inspection survey of the entire sewer system using a robotic crawler, making note of all important structures within it, taking still photos of these structures, recording the entire survey, and generating a written report to summarize the results of the inspection. During the course of the survey, at 20:50, a pile of debris was identified along one section of the system. The city sewer inspector demanded that the debris be removed from the pipe in order for him to approve the new system. A piece of string with a sand bag attached to its end was tied to the robotic crawler, and the string was pulled from one manhole to another. Once the string was received at the opposite manhole, it was pulled so that the sand bag dragged along the bottom of the pipe, clearing away the pile of debris. Once this section of the sewer system was cleared, the inspector gave his approval. After the fieldwork was completed, both a written report and video were sent to AMEC, providing hard evidence that the sewer system was indeed functioning properly and built to code.


Slideshow of Still Photos



Video Recording



Written Report



To learn more about our video inspection services, please visit the sewer, drain, and conduit video Inspection services page.

Video Inspection Survey of Storm Sewer Lines in Bethany, CT

posted Jan 10, 2017, 4:40 PM by Pete Viola   [ updated Feb 8, 2017, 3:31 PM ]

Bethany Agricultural Research & Development Facility, Bethany, CTARCADIS of Sandy Hook, CT, a regular client of ours, requested that we perform a Level 2 video inspection survey at the Bethany Agricultural Research & Development Facility, Bethany, CT. The purpose of the survey was to observe, characterize, and document the interior conditions of the storm sewer lines highlighted in blue on the site plan shown below. We went into this project expecting it to be a normal run-of-the-mill video inspection survey, yet it ended up being anything but that. The survey was conducted with push rod video inspection technology using a 500 feet long Specialist Reel. In Video #1 shown below, a broken pipe was spotted at 4:13. This information was documented, recorded, and the video was given to the ARCADIS representative, Paul Natoli. However, this was not the real reason why this project was anything but run-of-the-mill. In Video #2, a fuzzy friend was spotted at 3:05. At 4:30 he or she says hello to the camera. Sit back and enjoy the show!


Site Plan




Video #1



Video #2



To learn more about our video inspection services, please visit the sewer, drain, and conduit video Inspection services page.

Using a Robotic Crawler to Locate a Sewer Tee in Stratford, CT

posted Jan 10, 2017, 2:29 PM by Pete Viola   [ updated Feb 8, 2017, 3:32 PM ]

DRV Contracting needed to connect a new sewer lateral from a private property along Huntington Rd., Stratford, CT, to a future use tee that was installed years ago by the Town of Stratford, CT, but the asbuilts they were given by the town did not show its location. Fortunately, the town had used our services many times in the past, so they knew this was a problem we were capable of solving. Therefore, they had DRV give us a call to schedule a Level 1 video inspection survey. Due to the size and depth of the line, we decided to use robotic crawler video inspection technology to conduct the survey. This enabled us to easily move a video camera down the sewer main line to look for the tee. After about a minute into the survey, it came into view. The sonde was turned on, radiating a signal from the head of the crawler, and its location and depth was detected using a hand held receiver. As shown below, the location and depth of the sewer tee was marked on the ground with green paint. This enabled DRV to run the new sewer line right to this spot, completely eliminating the need for any destructive exploratory digging.




To learn more about our video inspection services, please visit the sewer, drain, and conduit video Inspection services page.

Video Inspection Survey of an Electrical Conduit in Rye Brook, NY

posted Jan 10, 2017, 1:31 PM by Pete Viola   [ updated Feb 8, 2017, 3:34 PM ]

Rye Ridge Shopping Center, Rye Brook, NY A Level 2 video inspection survey of a 4 inch diameter electrical conduit was performed at Rye Ridge Shopping Center, Rye Brook, NY, for the Belway Electrical Contracting Corp. of Elmsford, NY. The purpose of the survey was to view the interior conditions of the conduit to find out why an old electrical cable they were trying to remove from it was stuck. Because of the small diameter of the conduit, the survey was performed with push rod video inspection technology using a 400 foot long MIDI Real. As one can see in the video below, at 4:00 we discovered that a frayed electrical cable was stuck in a joint separating two sections of the conduit. Once Belway was aware of this problem, they were able to dislodge the cable from the joint, pull it out of the conduit, and run a new one in its place.


Video Inspection



To learn more about our video inspection services, please visit the sewer, drain, and conduit video Inspection services page.

1-10 of 10